RSS I  I  I  I  E-Newsletter                             

 - Please note that CIPS is currently receiving a high volume of inquiries and applications. We thank you for your patience - 

CIPS Members are you Ready to Vote in the National Referendum? (Sep 30 – Oct 21 2011)

 

On September 30, 2011 CIPS members will receive an email outlining how to vote in the National referendum online.   Members will be asked to vote on the following motion:

   “Be it approved that the CIPS National Constitution and Bylaws dated May 23, 2011 as distributed to members on the CIPS National Website be adopted by the Society.”  

 

Voting will close on October 21, 2011.   Results of the referendum will be announced at the CIPS National AGM which be held during the ICE conference November 1-3, 2011.

Members who do not wish to vote online can request a paper ballot by contacting info@cips.ca.  Members without a valid email address will automatically be sent a paper ballot.

 

The Federal Government have passed changes to Bill C-4: Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (LS-624E), which will require all affected organizations, including CIPS, to change their Constitution and By-Laws to comply with the Act. The CCITP (CIPS' National Governing Board) instructed the National Constitution Committee to prepare the necessary revisions to bring CIPS in compliance with the Act and to also conclude the changes required to achieve the New Governance Model.  While a number of changes to CIPS' governance model were implemented in 2008, those changes represented the initial steps required to begin the implementation of the New Governance Model.  One of the key remaining changes proposed to the Governance Model is that the CIPS Provincial Societies become the voting members of CIPS National.  Individual members retain their voting rights at the Provincial Society level and have the ability to influence the direction of the National Society through their Provincial Societies.

 

If you have not been able to attend a town meeting to-date, CIPS National will be holding two town hall meetings utilizing both Live Meeting and audio conferencing on the following dates:

September 13, 2011 at 7 PM Eastern, 8 PM Atlantic, 6 PM Central, 5 PM Mountain and 4 PM Pacific

September 15, 2011 at 12 PM Eastern, 1 PM Atlantic, 11 AM Central, 10 AM Mountain and 9 AM Pacific

 

Provincial Societies are also hosting town hall meetings:

CIPS SK and CIPS MB - Sept 21, 2011 at 12 noon local time in Saskatchewan and 1 PM local time in Manitoba

CIPS BC - Sept 26, 2011 at 12 noon Pacific local time

CIPS BC - Sept 28, 2011 at 12 noon Pacific local time

 

Town hall meetings are being scheduled to provide you with an opportunity to learn more about the proposed changes.  For information on how to participate in these meetings using both LiveMeeting and audio conferencing please see the events calendar (Click Here)

 

The proposed Constitution and By-Law changes have been posted on the National website at:  http://www.cips.ca/Governance

If you have any questions about the new CIPS governance model, please check the Governance: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document. You can also contact any of the National Constitution Committee members: Ken Chapman, FCIPS, I.S.P., ITCP, Jon Nightingale I.S.P., ITCP, Richard Thompson, FCIPS, or Mary Jean Kucerak,CAE, by e-mail at: governance@cips.ca

FAQ includes:

www.cips.ca/newgovernancefaq

 

Kind regards,

CIPS National Office

info@cips.ca

Tel: (905) 602-1370

Toll Free: 1-877-ASK-CIPS (275-2477)

CIPS Corporate Partners

The following organizations support CIPS' commitment to professionalism, ethics, and high standards for the I.T. professionCIPS thanks all its partners for their contribution. Become a CIPS Corporate Partner Today! - Send an email to info@cips.ca.


RocketTheme Drupal Themes